Mary Landon Quilts

Home » Uncategorized » Improv Curves

Improv Curves

Text Widget

This is a text widget, which allows you to add text or HTML to your sidebar. You can use them to display text, links, images, HTML, or a combination of these. Edit them in the Widget section of the Customizer.

Addictedtofabric

No Instagram images were found.

I have been seeing some very cool improv quilts lately on Instagram, and decided to venture into improv curves. I found a YouTube video by Leslie Tucker Jenison that was really helpful. https://youtu.be/4vT08esPfzwI am sure there are tons out there – I found at least four others, however, I thought Leslie‘s was the most helpful for me.

This is my process, and if you watch Leslie’s video and see my process you will see that not much is different other than maybe one small step. And it’s possible a Leslie does this, too, and I missed it while watching her video.

Make your cut from the base fabric (gray).
Use that base fabric piece as a template and lay it on the fabric that will go in its place.
Add 1/2 inch around the outside and make another cut
So it with the concave piece on top and the convex piece on the bottom. I find that if I do it this way, I do not need to use any pins.
Here is the finished block.

I hope this helped you make your own improv curved quilts. If you have any questions, just let me know. I’ll be happy to try to help you.


2 Comments

  1. Li says:

    Great post. Thank you. You have made an intimidating challenge very approachable.

    Like

Leave a comment