Mary Landon Quilts

Home » Uncategorized » Vintage Quilting – My $1 Practice Piece

Vintage Quilting – My $1 Practice Piece

Text Widget

This is a text widget, which allows you to add text or HTML to your sidebar. You can use them to display text, links, images, HTML, or a combination of these. Edit them in the Widget section of the Customizer.

Addictedtofabric

Yippee!  I'm so surprised and so happy!  Paducah!!! #quilts #quilting #addictedtofabric #freemotionquilting #proudinnovian #innovaquilting #aqspaducah

I found this eyelet table scarf at a thrift store for only $1!  Here she is iwth a third place ribbon at the Big Sky Quilt Retreat and Show in Billings, MT.  It was entered in the machine quilting category.

 I knew I had to quilt it with lots of feathers.  


My process was fairly quick, but I did take the time to mark it first. This is my plexiglass drawing mat that I place over the quilt top and draw on with dry erase markers.  I use it to try  it various designs.  

This is the piece after I’ve made some preliminary markings.  I dew a flower, and then traced it with tissue paper.  I laid that under the white table scarf and drew out each flower.

Here it is from the back.  I faced it, and this was the first time I attempted facing a quilt rather than traditional binding.

And a few close ups.  This fun little vintage quilt hung at the UQSM show in Utah earlier this month, but didn’t ribbon.  That’s okay, I learned quite a bit from the judge’s comments.

1 Comment

  1. Congratulations Mary! It is beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

