Mary Landon Quilts

Home » Uncategorized » A Major Milestone in My Life!

A Major Milestone in My Life!

Text Widget

This is a text widget, which allows you to add text or HTML to your sidebar. You can use them to display text, links, images, HTML, or a combination of these. Edit them in the Widget section of the Customizer.

Addictedtofabric

Yippee!  I'm so surprised and so happy!  Paducah!!! #quilts #quilting #addictedtofabric #freemotionquilting #proudinnovian #innovaquilting #aqspaducah

Over the past few years I’ve been studying quilt shows and show quilts; studying winning quilts and non-winning quilts.  The desire to enter a quilt into a national show has been growing bit by bit.  This quilt didn’t start out as a show quilt, but as I worked on it,  and I spent many, many hours more on this quilt than any other, I thought why not now?  I am the type of person who likes to challenge myself.  I don’t enjoy just stitching fabric together so much anymore.  So, I finally made the leap.



I decided to enter this into MQX because I’ve heard that their show was one of the best, and its focus is the machine quilting.  I also thought I’d take advantage of the Emerging Entrants category since it won’t always be able to do so.  I was so shocked to see that my quilt was getting an award, and then as I watched the live awards presentation on Facebook, I was stunned to hear my name called last for first place!!  

I named this quilt Made in Voyage because it’s my first attempt at a national show, and the fact that I made it over the course of, say, 18 months while traveling back and forth between Montana and California.  It is all done with my hand-guided longarm.  Most of the blocks are paper pieced.  I added some needleturn appliqué in the borders, and piped binding.  After I finished it, while it was drying during the blocking process, it bled!  Oh no!  Thankfully I had read articles by Vicki Welch and Margaret Gunn on how to fix the bleed.  Dawn dish soap to the rescue!  

Well, thanks for following me to my new page!

8 Comments

  1. Jackie Moore says:

    Looking forward to following you on your new adventure.

    Like

  2. Carole S. says:

    I enjoyed your post, and your quilt is beautiful. Is there a way to subscribe to your blog?

    Like

  3. Fabulous Mary! It is a beautiful quilt!

    Like

  4. billiemick says:

    You quilt and quilting are stunning! Congratulations!

    Like

  5. I saw it’s at MQX and loved it. I didn’t put two and two together with your name and your blog name. Very nicely done and a big congratulations.

    Like

Leave a Reply

